© Polaris Music Prize 2021

Here is the 2021 Polaris Music Prize Short List (presented by CBC Music) as it was announced on July 15th, 2021;

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson – Theory of Ice
Cadence Weapon – Parallel World
DijahSB – Head Above The Waters
Dominique Fils-Aimé – Three Little Words
Mustafa – When Smoke Rises
The OBGMs – The Ends
Klô Pelgag – Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs
TOBi – Elements Vol. 1
The Weather Station – Ignorance
Zoon – Bleached Wavves

Overall, it’s a great selection. A lot of first time nominees and a few returnees.
You can also check the 2021 Long List at this link (as pdf).

It’s nice to see Cadence Weapon back as he recently wrote a post on how he was treated from his former record label and management. You can read it from this link.

With the uncertainty of event gatherings, the Gala will not be hosting for another year.

The winner will be revealed on September 27th.

You can listen to the Short List nominees via Spotify.